FREE delivery to all EXCLUSIVE BOOKS stores nationwide. FREE delivery to your door on all orders over R450. Excludes all international deliveries.

Vita and the Birds

Polly Crosby

    Product form
      FORMAT: Paperback / softback

      R 390.00 Price and availability exclusive to website

      YOU COULD EARN 390 FUTURE DISCOUNT POINTS.
      ESTIMATED DELIVERY: Approx 4 Business Days
      A haunting mystery for fans of Eve Chase, Kate Morton and Kate Mosse. ‘A poignant page-turning story, beautifully written’ Leonora Nattrass, author of Blue Water ’Hugely evocative and beautifully written’ Anna Mazzola, author of The Clockwork Girl ‘A thoroughly compelling mystery meets a poignant love story, all wrapped up in beautifully lyrical writing’ Frances Quinn, author of The Smallest Man ‘A beguiling mystery from a gifted storyteller’ Louise Fein, author of People Like Us 1938: Lady Vita Goldsborough lives in the menacing shadow of her controlling older brother, Aubrey. But when she meets local artist Dodie Blakeney, the two women form a close bond, and Vita finally glimpses a chance to be free. 1997: Following the death of her mother, Eve Blakeney returns to the coast where she spent childhood summers with her beloved grandmother, Dodie. Eve hopes that the visit will help make sense of her grief. The last thing she expects to find is a bundle of letters that hint at the heart-breaking story of Dodie’s relationship with a woman named Vita, and a shattering secret that echoes through the decades. What she discovers will overturn everything she thought she knew about her family – and change her life forever. ‘Luminous and captivating … Polly Crosby’s shimmering writing veils a dark hint of the gothic’ Kate Griffin, author of Fyneshade What readers are saying about Vita and the Birds 'A beautiful and haunting tale of family, love, control and connections. This book and its characters will stay with me for a long time' Netgalley reviewer 'A lush and evocative novel of loss and forbidden love' Netgalley reviewer 'Beautifully written, a dark and moody yet intriguing story' Netgalley reviewer 'An extraordinary book that I read in a 4 hour straight session without stopping for food or drink . . . A spellbinding read' Netgalley reviewer
      CONTRIBUTORS: Polly Crosby EAN: 9780008550653 COUNTRY: United Kingdom PAGES: WEIGHT: 400 g HEIGHT: 234 cm
      PUBLISHED BY: HarperCollins Publishers DATE PUBLISHED: CITY: GENRE: FICTION / Historical / General, FICTION / LGBTQ+ / Lesbian, FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical, FICTION / Women, FICTION / Friendship WIDTH: 153 cm SPINE:

      Book Themes:

      East Anglia, Early 20th century c 1900 to c 1950, Subject matter intended specifically for women and/or girls, Crime and mystery: women sleuths, Romance, Historical fiction

      Customer Reviews

      Be the first to write a review
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      Polly Crosby grew up on the Suffolk coast, and now lives with her husband and son in the heart of Norfolk.In 2018, Polly won Curtis Brown Creative’s Yesterday Scholarship, which enabled her to finish her debut novel, The Illustrated Child. Later the same year, it was awarded runner-up in the Bridport Prize’s Peggy Chapman Andrews Award for a First Novel. Polly received the Annabel Abbs Creative Writing Scholarship at the University of East Anglia. Her new novel, Vita and the Birds, is out in May 2023.

      Book Partnerships

      For the Fans

      A haunting mystery for fans of Eve Chase, Kate Morton and Kate Mosse. ‘A poignant page-turning story, beautifully written’ Leonora Nattrass, author of Blue Water ’Hugely evocative and beautifully written’ Anna Mazzola, author of The Clockwork Girl ‘A thoroughly compelling mystery meets a poignant love story, all wrapped up in beautifully lyrical writing’ Frances Quinn, author of The Smallest Man ‘A beguiling mystery from a gifted storyteller’ Louise Fein, author of People Like Us 1938: Lady Vita Goldsborough lives in the menacing shadow of her controlling older brother, Aubrey. But when she meets local artist Dodie Blakeney, the two women form a close bond, and Vita finally glimpses a chance to be free. 1997: Following the death of her mother, Eve Blakeney returns to the coast where she spent childhood summers with her beloved grandmother, Dodie. Eve hopes that the visit will help make sense of her grief. The last thing she expects to find is a bundle of letters that hint at the heart-breaking story of Dodie’s relationship with a woman named Vita, and a shattering secret that echoes through the decades. What she discovers will overturn everything she thought she knew about her family – and change her life forever. ‘Luminous and captivating … Polly Crosby’s shimmering writing veils a dark hint of the gothic’ Kate Griffin, author of Fyneshade What readers are saying about Vita and the Birds 'A beautiful and haunting tale of family, love, control and connections. This book and its characters will stay with me for a long time' Netgalley reviewer 'A lush and evocative novel of loss and forbidden love' Netgalley reviewer 'Beautifully written, a dark and moody yet intriguing story' Netgalley reviewer 'An extraordinary book that I read in a 4 hour straight session without stopping for food or drink . . . A spellbinding read' Netgalley reviewer
      CONTRIBUTORS: Polly Crosby EAN: 9780008550653 COUNTRY: United Kingdom PAGES: WEIGHT: 400 g HEIGHT: 234 cm
      PUBLISHED BY: HarperCollins Publishers DATE PUBLISHED: CITY: GENRE: FICTION / Historical / General, FICTION / LGBTQ+ / Lesbian, FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical, FICTION / Women, FICTION / Friendship WIDTH: 153 cm SPINE:

      Book Themes:

      East Anglia, Early 20th century c 1900 to c 1950, Subject matter intended specifically for women and/or girls, Crime and mystery: women sleuths, Romance, Historical fiction

      Customer Reviews

      Be the first to write a review
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      Polly Crosby grew up on the Suffolk coast, and now lives with her husband and son in the heart of Norfolk.In 2018, Polly won Curtis Brown Creative’s Yesterday Scholarship, which enabled her to finish her debut novel, The Illustrated Child. Later the same year, it was awarded runner-up in the Bridport Prize’s Peggy Chapman Andrews Award for a First Novel. Polly received the Annabel Abbs Creative Writing Scholarship at the University of East Anglia. Her new novel, Vita and the Birds, is out in May 2023.

      Book Partnerships

      For the Fans

      Recently viewed products

      Customer Reviews

      Be the first to write a review
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)

      Login

      Forgot your password?

      Don't have an account yet?
      Create account