FREE delivery to all EXCLUSIVE BOOKS stores nationwide. FREE delivery to your door on all orders over R450. Excludes all international deliveries.

Last Acts

Sammartino

    Product form
      FORMAT: Hardback

      R 570.00 Price and availability exclusive to website

      YOU COULD EARN 570 FUTURE DISCOUNT POINTS.
      ESTIMATED DELIVERY: Approx. 20 - 30 Business Days
      A rollicking, satirical debut novel about a gun-store-owning father and son forced to live together after a near-death experience--an unflinching look at the absurdities of contemporary capitalism and what it means to be a family in America today. "Honest, highwire, virtuosic writing that summons up the world with all its charms and hazards." --George Saunders, author of Liberation Day "This funny as hell tale kept me moved to the core. Unputdownable." --Mary Karr, author of Lit Even though his firearms store is failing, things are looking up for David Rizzo. His son, Nick, has just recovered after a near-fatal overdose, which means one thing: Rizzo can use Nick's resurrection to create the most compelling television commercial for a gun emporium that the world has ever seen. After all, this is America, Rizzo tells himself. Surely anything is possible. But the relationship between father and son is fragile, mired in mutual disappointment. And when the pair embarks on their scheme to avoid bankruptcy, a high stakes crash of hijinks, hope, and disaster ensues. Featuring a cast of unforgettable characters, this razor-sharp social satire lays bare both the gun and opioid crises. Fans of Don DeLillo and Stephen Markley will be thrilled by this smart, inventive debut.
      CONTRIBUTORS: Sammartino EAN: 9781982196745 COUNTRY: United States PAGES: WEIGHT: 349 g HEIGHT: 213 cm
      PUBLISHED BY: Simon & Schuster DATE PUBLISHED: CITY: GENRE: FICTION / Literary, FICTION / Family Life / General, FICTION / Small Town & Rural, FICTION / World Literature / American / 21st Century WIDTH: 140 cm SPINE:

      Book Themes:

      Modern and contemporary fiction: general and literary, Family life fiction, Narrative theme: Sense of place

      Customer Reviews

      Be the first to write a review
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      Alexander Sammartino lives in Brooklyn. He received his MFA from Syracuse University. Last Acts is his first novel.

      Book Partnerships

      For the Fans

      A rollicking, satirical debut novel about a gun-store-owning father and son forced to live together after a near-death experience--an unflinching look at the absurdities of contemporary capitalism and what it means to be a family in America today. "Honest, highwire, virtuosic writing that summons up the world with all its charms and hazards." --George Saunders, author of Liberation Day "This funny as hell tale kept me moved to the core. Unputdownable." --Mary Karr, author of Lit Even though his firearms store is failing, things are looking up for David Rizzo. His son, Nick, has just recovered after a near-fatal overdose, which means one thing: Rizzo can use Nick's resurrection to create the most compelling television commercial for a gun emporium that the world has ever seen. After all, this is America, Rizzo tells himself. Surely anything is possible. But the relationship between father and son is fragile, mired in mutual disappointment. And when the pair embarks on their scheme to avoid bankruptcy, a high stakes crash of hijinks, hope, and disaster ensues. Featuring a cast of unforgettable characters, this razor-sharp social satire lays bare both the gun and opioid crises. Fans of Don DeLillo and Stephen Markley will be thrilled by this smart, inventive debut.
      CONTRIBUTORS: Sammartino EAN: 9781982196745 COUNTRY: United States PAGES: WEIGHT: 349 g HEIGHT: 213 cm
      PUBLISHED BY: Simon & Schuster DATE PUBLISHED: CITY: GENRE: FICTION / Literary, FICTION / Family Life / General, FICTION / Small Town & Rural, FICTION / World Literature / American / 21st Century WIDTH: 140 cm SPINE:

      Book Themes:

      Modern and contemporary fiction: general and literary, Family life fiction, Narrative theme: Sense of place

      Customer Reviews

      Be the first to write a review
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      Alexander Sammartino lives in Brooklyn. He received his MFA from Syracuse University. Last Acts is his first novel.

      Book Partnerships

      For the Fans

      Recently viewed products

      Customer Reviews

      Be the first to write a review
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)
      0%
      (0)

      Login

      Forgot your password?

      Don't have an account yet?
      Create account